Truth

Every girl deserves to have a guy best friend. It’s totally different from a girl best friend, honestly.

One day, for my birthday, he took me for a walk on the beach.

As we were walking, he grabbed me by the shoulders, and said to me, “I need to tell you something.”

I’m not going to lie to you, I was worried.

“What’s up?” I said.

“There’s something I’ve been wanting to tell you…for a little while now,” and then added, “You do know I have a crush on Rosie, right?”

“Of course I do. You told me yourself.”

“Well, ever wondered why I told you?” he said, reluctantly.

“Because I’m your best friend?”

“Technically, I wanted to see how you would react, and you were so chill about it. Jane, the day we met was the greatest day of my life. I was so lucky to have met someone as talented and fun as you are. I loved you.”

“You…what?” I said, surprised and a little confused.

“Yes, I liked you, Jane. But when you told me you weren’t interested in relationships, it was hard for me. I hope this doesn’t ruin our friendship, though. I need you.”

I bit my lip, showing a little hesitation.

And then I finally said, “Since we’re admitting things, I have something to tell you as well. The day we met was also one of the most amazing days of my life. We joked around, made each other listen to various songs, and laughed at stuff that were actually kind of ridiculous. Then, I grew attached to you. That’s why I want to apologize for every time you weren’t really in the mood to talk to me, and yet I “forced” you into having a conversation. So, that made me kind of clingy, and I’m sorry if I ever bothered you.”

“You didn’t bother me…?” he said.

“Yeah, okay, you can tell me that. But the reason for that is, like I said, that I grew attached to you. I mean, you’re such an amazing person and you’ve always been there for me no matter what, and I couldn’t afford to lose you, or to not talk to you every day. I love you so much, Nick. And you know that. And when I found out you had a crush on Rosie, and that you wanted to talk to her all the time, I didn’t know what to do besides talk to you more, regardless of how useless the topic of conversation was. That’s why I want to apologize, too.”

I couldn’t believe I had just said all of this.

Nick simply looked at me, with no idea about what to say.

After a few minutes of awkward silence, he finally said, “You don’t have to worry about me talking to another girl, even though I’m surprised you’re jealous.”

Was I jealous?

He then stood up — we sat on the ground in the middle of the conversation — and he helped me stand up. And before I noticed, he hugged me tightly. “I love you, Jane. You truly are an amazing friend. What would I do without you?”

That hug.
All my broken pieces,
were put back together.

“I love you too, Nick. Promise me you’ll always be there.”

“I promise,” he said, hugging me tighter.

“Don’t let go just yet, though.”

Leave a Reply

