I Fear There Will Come a Day Where

I fear there will come a day
where you’ll be gone,
and the taste
of my morning coffee
will be numbed,
like the taste of your lips
I once had engraved,
like permanent ink,
on mine.

I fear there will come a day
where pills and alcohol
will be the only
poisonous friends I’ll have,
a day where my fingertips
will always smell of the smoke
you once puffed,
a day where the drugs
I had once feared
as a little boy
will become the parents
that will slowly love me,
and kill me.

I fear there will come a day
where the colors
of the sky and trees
will turn to grey,
a day where all that I’ve ever
feared and hated,
will corner me
like endless storms
raging ceaselessly.

I fear there will come a day
where every possible beauty
in the world
will turn ugly,
and float away
like dust in a gust of wind,
because the gem
that had once lit my world
has sunken along with my soul
and sense of life.

Beautiful poem by Mathew Abou Jaoude.

Leave a Reply

