Mother

She was born. She was raised. She was given whatever she wanted. You gave her so much.

You worked day and night and hour after hour to bring out the best for her life. When she woke up, you were already up. When she went to bed, you were still up. You made sure she never slept without being covered with a blanket. You made sure she always slept in the correct position.

When she came back from school, you had lunch already prepared. You never forced her to eat something she didn’t want to try. Some told you that what you did was spoiling her, but you never listened. Her happiness came first. You always knew that she’ll grow up and eventually change.

When she was sick, you never left her side. Medicine after medicine, tissue box after tissue box, clean shirt after clean shirt. You never left.

You sat beside her whenever she was doing her homework, and you never punished her because of a bad grade.

She grew up. She had now the right to make her own decisions. She has decided to work hard, just the way you taught her.

The years passed by, and she graduated. The lady you have been waiting to see was standing right in front of you. She delivered a farewell speech, and before you knew it, she was off to college.

She paid you visits, and everything was absolutely fine….except one day she said, “Mom, I never asked you this but, why do you have to wear this bandana? Are you hiding your hair? You’ve been doing that for the past seven years and I never had the courage to ask you why.”

You smiled, with tears filling up your eyes. And finally, you said, “My dear, I now see that you’ve gathered the courage to ask me about my hair. I didn’t have the courage to tell you this little secret…but I think, since we’re admitting things, I have to say it.”

“….what is it, Mom?”

“I…I have been battling cancer for the past ten years. It was until three years later after I was diagnosed that my hair eventually entirely fell off. Which is why I was often out of the house. Part of it was work, and the other was chemotherapy. I always had hope that I would be able to be a survivor, and to stay by your side. My love, even though my body is failing me bit by bit, I tried my best to make you the happiest little girl in the world, without anyone but your dad knowing about the struggle I’m facing.”

“But Mom, why didn’t you just tell me?”
You smiled, and continued, “Honey, look at you. You’re a beautiful, talented, successful and happy plastic surgeon. I couldn’t get you all worked up over me, and take happiness away from you.”

She stood up, and knelt beside the bed. She held your hand and said, “Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you, Mom. You are the most encouraging, caring, talented, and beautiful person in the world. Even with that bandana, I never saw you otherwise. I love you. I love you so much. I wouldn’t be where I am if it weren’t for you. I promise I will be there for you, all the time.”

But, mother closed her eyes and said goodbye. She died peacefully, knowing she had accomplished her duties, having raised her kid to be a good person.

Love your mom.

3 thoughts on “Mother

Leave a Reply

