Some People Do Not Understand

I have noticed that there are some people that simply don’t get why I do or love something. It’s as if the thing is too weird to be acceptable.

Some people do not understand why I prefer biology over physics.
Some people do not understand why I study too hard to get good grades (which I do get).
Some people do not understand why I listen to hard rock and heavy metal instead of Hip-Hop and RnB.
Some people do not understand how important my grades are to me.
Some people do not understand how I can possibly believe in a God who for them does not exist at all.
Some people do not understand why there are some discussions I prefer to remain out of.
Some people do not understand why I pressure myself.

They do not understand why I do this to myself and why I prefer some things over others.

Well I’ll tell you why.

I do this to myself because it’s who I am and what I’m like. Yes.
I work under pressure because if not, I would procrastinate too much.
I want to be a doctor, not an engineer. Yes, I prefer learning about what is going on in my body rather than about the laws of motion. I listen to hard rock and heavy metal because I enjoy the music, the sound of instruments. I work hard for my grades to make sure my future will be bright, which is the reason why my grades matter so much. I stay out of some conversations, because I have no business in being part of them in the first place. I believe in God because I can feel Him in my daily life.

And I’ll tell you what: if people don’t get how you function and what makes you comfortable, well I’m sorry but they will never do, so whatever! Go ahead, man. Do as you please. Work as you please. Entertain yourself as you please, ’cause that’s who you are, and you should feel proud. And remember, some people will never understand.

2 thoughts on “Some People Do Not Understand

Leave a Reply

