Music.

“One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.” – Bob Marley

The thing people love about music is the way it makes them feel. Music can bring up the best or the worst emotions out of someone, and that’s alright. You feel sad, and decide to listen to music. There you go, sadness released. You feel angry, so you listen to music. There you go, rage is out.

There is one saying that triggers me, though. It says “music connects people” (my friend even continued the saying with “better than Nokia”). Well, it is true. Music is the base of many, many social connections. I’ll give you an example. Myself. I’m the kind of person who bonds with another person if the both of us have a common taste in music; that was the reason that got me along with two people who are now my best friends.

However, man tends to take this whole good music taste thing sometimes way out of hand. What bothers me is that a lot of people believe that what they listen to is the one and only good kind of music there exists. You might be the biggest connaisseur in music on this planet, but that doesn’t give you the right to tell someone that his/her favorite artist sucks.

I mean it’s okay not to stick to one genre of music. Just because a person mostly listens to rap, means that his life is just about rap. One can listen to anything he/she wants; what sounds crappy to him/her might sound good to you, and what sounds good to him/her might sound crappy to you. This is how life goes, and this is how it should go.

For instance, I like rock, metal, and punk. This nonetheless does not prevent me from enjoying other kinds of music (yes, I do love some pop artists including Michael Jackson and Ed Sheeran). And a person shouldn’t hide what he/she likes because of some stupid judgments uttered by some ignorants in our society.

This reminds me of a conversation I had with a friend of mine. He has really good taste in music and all, but once he tweeted the name of a song by an artist I don’t really like. Very innocently and sarcastically, I replied with “who are you” but he seemed to have taken it very seriously and got defensive, telling me that this song has better guitar riffs than most (like he calls it) scene music I listen to. I wanted to say that I wasn’t serious about my reply and that there was no reason for him to get all defensive, but it didn’t work. I mean, dude, among all people on this entire planet I’m the last one who should tell you what to and what not to listen to.

My point is, listen to whatever the hell you want, and stop caring about how people might look at you based on what your playlist contains. You like One Direction? Fine. You like Metallica? Fine. You like both? It’s also fine.
Like seriously. Your music. Your happiness. Your passion. Don’t let anyone affect it or judge what brings heaven to your ears, because we all have the same thought after all: I love my music. My taste is the best.

image

2 thoughts on “Music.

Leave a Reply

